For decades green tea has touted health benefits, with some evidence suggesting that regular green tea drinkers may have lower chances of heart disease and developing certain types of cancer. Green tea has also been claimed as useful for “weight loss management”.

But what some people are afraid to admit to is that it can be pretty awful tasting. I am one of them. I’ve tried it hot and cold, sweetened and unsweetened. But it always went down with a grimace.

Then one day a friend told me to brew a pot of green tea in a thermos and add two slices of fresh ginger (or a teaspoon of powdered ginger) with either artificial sweetener or sugar. There were two advantages to this: one, the ginger took the edge off the sharp bitterness; and two, the combination of green tea and ginger is an energy booster not unworthy of a firecracker placed under your chair. On cold winter days, I make a pot to last me all morning. It keeps my hands warm and sure beats typing with fingerless gloves.

Santé!
Share/Bookmark

